w3c wcag wcag22

WCAG 2.2 Is Now A W3C Recommendation

Announcing: WCAG 2.2 is now published as a web standard—a W3C Recommendation!

For an introduction to WCAG, see the WCAG 2 Overview. There are also a few updates in the WCAG 2 FAQ.

1 Success Criterion dropped in WCAG 2.2

Success Criterion 4.1.1 Parsing has been removed. More info on this highly debated decision from W3C WAI on why 4.1.1 was removed. Also, see the article The 411 on 4.1.1 by Adrian Roselli.

9 new Success Criteria in WCAG 2.2

  • 2.4.11 Focus Not Obscured (Minimum) (AA)
  • 2.4.12 Focus Not Obscured (Enhanced) (AAA)
  • 2.4.13 Focus Appearance (AAA)
  • 2.5.7 Dragging Movements (AA)
  • 2.5.8 Target Size (Minimum) (AA)
  • 3.2.6 Consistent Help (A)
  • 3.3.7 Redundant Entry (A)
  • 3.3.8 Accessible Authentication (Minimum) (AA)
  • 3.3.9 Accessible Authentication (Enhanced) (AAA)

Related Articles

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2; W3C Recommendation 05 October 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *