awards presentations twitter

Accessible Twitter Wins Award, Slidedeck

Congratulations to Accessible Twitter which was honored with the ACCESS-IT@Web 2.0 2009 award! Here is the link to the acceptance presentation on SlideShare which was given by Meera Tank at the event in London:

Accessible Twitter presentation for ACCESS-IT@Web 2.0

Slideshare provides a text version towards the bottom of the page, but here’s a better version in HTML.

Cool tidbit: The presentation made the Featured Presentations & Documents section of the SlideShare home page the day after it was posted, and it made it (briefly) to the Hot on Twitter section!


awards conference event

ACCESS-IT Workshops and Awards

ACCESS-IT 2009 is a two-day event on Accessibility and Assistive Technology to be held September 22 and 23 at Microsoft (UK), Victoria, London. The event includes two workshops and an awards ceremony. It is hosted by Microsoft and will be located at its Cardinal Place location in Central London. You may register for ACCESS-IT 2009 at any time.

The ACCESS-IT 2009 Awards program honors accessible technologies from a project, product or service in the following four categories: Home, Work, Living, Web 2.0. About 100 nominations have been submitted from 24 countries; there are 19 finalists and 44 have received a good practice label.

Accessible Twitter has been named a finalist! All finalists will be rewarded at the ACCESS-IT 2009 event ceremony September 23.

administrative awards podcast

Web Axe Nominated in 2009 .net Awards

Web Axe is nominated for Podcast of the Year in The 2009 .net Awards by .Net Magazine (@netmag).

There are 17 categories, but you don’t have to vote for all at one time. Categories include best web app, mobile site of the year, and standards champion.

Voting closes 12th October 2009. The judges will then decide the winner from the top 3 in each category. Winners will be announced December 8th.

The awards have an excellent group of judges including: Jeffrey Zeldman, Paul Boag, Andy Budd, Christian Heilmann, Jason Santa Maria, Jon Hicks, Ryan Carson and Jonathan Snook.

Web Axe was also nominated last year (2008). Boagworld won the award.